STATION artists in the 2016 Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes

12 July 2016

The Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes hosted by the Art Gallery of New South Wales is an annual exhibition with each prize looking a differing style of traditional painting. The Archibald Prize, first awarded in 1921, being awarded to the best portrait painting; The Wynne Prize is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery, or figure sculpture, while the Sulman Prize is given to the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project in oil, acrylic, watercolour or mixed media. Each year, the trustees of the Art Gallery of NSW judge the Archibald and Wynne, and invite an artist to judge the Sulman, for 2016 the judge is artist Judy Watson.

David Griggs - Archibald Prize

Tim McMonagle - Wynne Prize

Gareth Sansom - Sulman Prize

The exhibition will be on display until 9 October.

(image left to right: David Griggs It's a G thang 2016; Tim McMonagle The admiral 2016; Gareth Sansom Destroy all monsters 2016)